Welcome!

You may have found this blog from my etsy shop, and part of this blog’s purpose is to promote the new items I’ve listed.  I will also be posting tips I find that help us live a more sustainable, more thoughtful, and above all, a simpler life.  I really feel that life has gotten too complicated, and more than anything, I think that materialism and materialistic attitudes clog our lives with unnecessary clutter.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not living in a shack with no electricity or heat, two sets of clothing, and a few chickens!  I dream my home will one day grace the cover of Better Homes and Gardens magazine with perfect floral arrangements and matching dishes in the see-through cupboards.  I love clothes – and buy clothes that are way too trendy to last the year whenever I get the chance.  (Ironic, because ultimately I’d much rather wear jeans and a t-shirt.)  And I find that at least twice a year I can go through my house and collect enough unused stuff for a nice-sized garage sale!

But I want to get past that.  I want to get to the place where I’m not spending money to buy something I don’t use that I will eventually toss out or give away without even using it.  I want to buy things that I love, things that I will use until they fall apart – and then I will fix them and use them some more.  And I want to buy things that I can put in the compost pile, the recycling bin, or even reuse for a different task rather than hauling it to the curb in a big green bin every Friday.  I don’t want to have to think hard to find a place for something.  I want there to be room on my shelves!

So what does that have to do with Wee Essentials?  My life, this blog, and my etsy shop all have one thing in common – they are about the search for beauty in simplicity, and living a thoughtful life.  Being “green,” as is so popular now in Hollywood, is not about replacing all your ceramic floors with bamboo.  It’s about living with what you have, making responsible choices while considering the effect of your choice, and choosing products that can be reused, renewed, or recycled.

And that’s where Wee Essentials comes in – many of my products are reusable household goods – things that will replace paper or plastic products – items like cloth baby wipes and wipe solution cubes, unpaper towels and napkins, waterproof bags for wet items (instead of using Walmart grocery bags!) and cloth menstrual pads.  And of course I have fun things, too, like stitch markers for your knitting or crochet projects, hats and blankets, kids’ toys, and whatever else comes to mind when I’m feeling creative!

So if you have something to add or if you just want to stay up to date with what’s new at Wee Essentials, please subscribe to my blog and comment!

Leave a Reply

