Maintaining a Clean House

Way back in May I posted about the clutter filling my house and how emotionally and physically draining it was becoming.  Since then, I’ve made a huge effort to clean up spaces, finish projects, and rid myself of some of the things that were dragging me down with guilt (my scrapbooking supplies were one of them – G is now nearly three-and-a-half, and the last time I did a scrapbook page for him, it was a trip we took when he was 6 months old.)

I’m still working on it, but once I got certain areas clean I found out the dirty truth – it’s not cleaning it up that’s hard – it’s keeping it that way!  But I’ve started to work on a new habit:

If it takes less than 30 seconds to put it away, put it away!

Thirty measly seconds – doesn’t sound like that’s enough time to do anything.  But you’d be surprised!

A lot of times I don’t empty the dishwasher – takes too much time, I’d tell myself.  In the meantime, dishes would pile up in the sink or on the table, and then I had an even bigger job once the dishwasher was empty.  Now I’d also have to scrap dried gunk off the dishes in the sink!

One day I decided to time myself emptying the dishwasher.  I was surprised to find out it took me less than 4 minutes to completely put away everything!  I think when we do things we don’t want to do or think we don’t have the time for, it seems to take longer than it does.

So set your microwave timer, and see what you can do in 30 seconds.  You’ll realize that most things can be put away in a minimal amount of time!  Then make it a habit to put it away! I guarantee your house will stay cleaner!

One response to this post.

  1. I should so do this! I currently have a basket of clothes that need to folded… Lately I’ve been trying to get myself to do the stuff, because once a few things pile up, I get overwhelmed and have to do it all at once! Not fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

