Homemade Laundry Detergent

The last bottle of laundry detergent I bought was awful!  The green label and the “rain fresh” scent promised much more than it offered, instead making me wrinkle my nose as I put it into the washer and pray the clothes wouldn’t retain the scent.  (Thankfully, my prayers were answered!)

Just a week before this, I had decided to try making my own detergent.  It was a simple recipe:

1 bar of Fels Naptha, grated (I then put it in a food processor to make it even finer.)

2 cups of Washing Soda

2 cups of Borax

Mix everything together.  I added several drops of eucalyptus and lavender essential oils, just for kicks.  I didn’t expect the essential oils to last through the wash.

Use 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons for a full load. Each batch makes about 4 1/2 cups of detergent, so that’s about 28 loads a batch (at 2 tbsp a load.)

I was surprised to find, when I cuddled up under a quilt that had been washed in my homemade detergent that it still smelled like the essential oils.  My husband agreed when he smelled it – he really liked the detergent!

The Cost:

1 bar Fels Naptha: $1.09

1 box Borax: $3.99

1 box Washing Soda: $2.99

Total: $8.07
This is actually a misleading number, because I only used two cups of each the borax and washing soda.  I believe with what is left, I could make 3 more batches, but I didn’t have more Fels Naptha.

Leave a Reply

