Today I get a spinning wheel!

So I’ve been learning how to spin yarn (yes, I know some of you are rolling your eyes at the computer screen right now) and I have a drop spindle.  I’ve enjoyed it, but it’s slow-going, and my arms start to ache after a half hour or so of holding them up to spin!

I’ve also been taking lessons from a friend on the wheel, and I’ve decided to take the plunge and buy my own.  Northeast Ohio is known for having a larger population than normal of people who enjoy the traditional fiber arts, but after checking Craigslist and other local resources, I was having no luck finding a wheel that looked good enough to buy and actually use (as opposed to using it for a planter on my front porch…)

I ended up posting a wanted ad on Freecycle.  If you know me, you know that I must have been desperate, because I’m usually the one laughing at the wanted ads for items that generally cost more than a small car – or, in some cases, the actual car!  My husband, sweet man that he can be, repremands me because “perhaps they just really need a car, and they figure it’s worth a shot.”

So there I was, posting on freecycle for something that easily fell within my personally determined boundaries of “what is too expensive to ask for on freecycle.”  I would be glad to pay for one, but I was having trouble even finding a usable wheel for sale!

lol.

I was immediately contacted by a member of the local spinner’s guild, who asked me if she could put an ad up on their guild forums.  Of course! I said.

And there you have it.  Someone contacted me with a wheel for sale – one of the exact models I was thinking I’d like.  I’m meeting her tonight at the library, and I’m so excited!  I do hope it works, and if it does, I’ll post pictures!  (Not of my yarn, though.  My yarn is definitely “beginner” yarn.  LOL.)

Hmmm…does this count as buying locally? 😉

Leave a Reply

