Buy Nothing Week – Part 2

Well, this past week’s “Buy Nothing” plan didn’t go well.  When it came to groceries, we did very well.  But not when it came to other expenditures.

So here’s the run-down:

Groceries: We ran out of milk, but we found some powdered milk in the cupboard that my husband uses in baking (when he bakes, anyway.)  I mixed that up, gave it to G, and held my breath.  He didn’t notice.  In fact, he asked for more.  Other than that, we didn’t buy anything.  We still have a lot in the pantry and quite a bit of fresh produce we need to eat before it goes bad.

I take that back.  We did have to pay for my husband’s flo-nase – apparently he has a “dysfunctional eustasian tube.”  (Yes, really, that’s what the doctor’s notes said.)  That means he’s all clogged up.

I also had to refill my migraine medicine prescription, but I found out it was going to cost me $182 for 90 highest-dose pills (generic!)  Hmm, not great, especially because I don’t know anyone, even my stress-ridden father, who could use that many before they expire.  I ended up going on the Imitrex website, linking to the drug companies’ website, and finding a coupon for a free 9 pill prescription to another similar medication, which my doctor was willing to fill.  Free!

Going out to eat: Hmm, not very good at all.  This may be why we didn’t need to buy groceries. We’ve had several showings on our house this week, and they seem to coincide with either meal time or nap time.  Multiple trips to McDonalds and other such places mean we also have not been feeling our best.  I need to come up with a contingency plan for showings that doesn’t include enough fat and sugar to send my kids into shock.

G at the "Termite Mounds" in the Australian exhibit at the zoo

G at the "Termite Mounds" in the Australian exhibit at the zoo

Lastly, other expenses:  Yesterday we took a trip to the zoo.  We have a membership card that my mom gave us for Christmas, so we didn’t pay to get in, but we did spend $6.25 on three popsicles  and $1 for nectar to feed the tropical birds. I would still have spent this money, and since it was a treat for the kids, I feel it was well-spent.

B hand-feeds the birds nectar.

B hand-feeds the birds nectar.

~~~~~~~~~

I can’t say our consumption went down this week, and I think the fast food meals definitely need to go – not only because of money and the packaging, but they are so full of sodium, fat and carbohydrates that we’re all feeling icky.  I think the sodium may be what is triggering my migraines as well; I’ve noticed a trend when I’m stressed or eating poorly (which tend to go together.)

~~~~~~~~~

I’m not the only one doing the “buy nothing” challenge.  Over at the Small Notebook, Rachel just finished up a month of not spending. She has some great insights on how buying nothing changes your mindset – when you become accustomed to not eating out, the desire to do so often leaves!  The same with other purchases.  Sometimes we get in the habit of doing something and we don’t even realize the only thing desireable about that pursuit is that it’s what we’ve always done.

So we’ll see how next week goes!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by speakfoodish on August 1, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    This is really making me want to take on the “buy nothing challenge.” Its crazy how much one can spend in a week and not even know it. Interesting stuff, thanks.

    Reply

  2. Do it! 🙂 If nothing else, like you said, it makes you really aware of how much money gets frittered away every day. I don’t really even want to think about how much we’ve spent this week! 😛

    Reply

  3. Posted by mdosborne2 on August 2, 2009 at 1:18 am

    You are so brave to try a buy nothing week in the midst of moving. I thought all the rules went out the door for moving!! Love the picture of G. Way too cute!

    Reply

    • The fewer items to move the better! Plus we’ve made some choices that means our house will likely be a bit smaller, with no basement to stash things we really need to get rid of. 😛

      It’s nice to see you on here, thanks for commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

