Review: Seventh Generation Laundry Detergent

One thing about my family: we go through lots of laundry.  Clothing, sheets, towels, quilts, mattress pads – if my boys don’t spill food or pee on it on a daily basis, we’re doing better than normal!

When I got to Minnesota, I intended to go out to buy our own laundry detergent, which was reinforced by the nearly overwhelming smell of my mom’s fragranced detergent (no offense, Mom.  I think I’ve gotten sensitive!)  I ran over to the local grocery store to get something that wouldn’t knock me off my feet with chemically-perfume smell and discovered Seventh Generation’s Blue Eucalyptus and Lavender Laundry Detergent was on sale, making it about the same cost as what I’d normally buy.

I really like that it’s concentrated (especially since I have very limited space right now) but more than that, I liked that there were no perfumes.  There were only essential oils scenting the detergent, which means that it smells really natural and clean compared to the flowery perfumes put in most commercial detergents.

SeventhGenerationLaundryDetergent

Photo from SeventhGeneration.com

But did it work?

So far, so good.  We’ve gone through about half the bottle in the past week and a half (I told you we go through a lot of laundry!  But we’re also washing some of my parents’ stuff, too.)  I’ve washed regularly soiled clothing, pants and shirts with mustard and red sauce stains, pee-soaked sheets, and even four versions of vomit from Thing Two’s bedding and clothing (he was coughing so hard he threw up last week.)

We did use Shout! for some of the stains, and while Seventh Generation is no miracle worker as far as stains go, it’s another case of me being impressed that a plant-based cleanser not only works as well as the petroleum based cleaners out there, but even slightly better!  Our clothes are coming out with no detergent residue, fresh smelling and clean.  Even stain removal was more than comparable to petroleum-based cleaners.

I definitely recommend it.  It’s a great alternative to other detergents.  I’ll actually be reviewing two more laundry products coming up soon – so keep reading!  There are so many great alternative detergents, I’m sure I’ll cover one you’ll enjoy!

Leave a Reply

