It’s aliiive!

I’ve decided to revive this blog.  After all, I need it for giveaways and such, right?  It’s been so crazy the past several months, and I feel like things are finally starting to find a rhythm that doesn’t feel like an erratic racing heart.  You don’t know what I mean, do you?  Oh, you do?  Okay.

Part of the reason I stopped writing posts was I simply didn’t have the energy to come up with posts that required thought and research.   So things might be more random around here, but definitely more fun, too. (If I do manage to keep posting!)   Just like Frankenstein, my blog is alive for now, but reinvented with lots of mismatched parts…

maybe?

So since I have many new subscribers, I’d like to reintroduce myself and my family.

I have three kids – two boys and a girl.  I own two cats and four very overfed goldfish.  We also own a drafty old farmhouse with no heat upstairs and a failing heat pump downstairs.  But I do love the house…when it’s warm outside…lol.  We are slowly renovating, and eventually the boys will move out of the parlor and Baby Girl will move out of our room and they will go upstairs into the three bedroom, one bath space that exists only in our dreams!  Guess who gets the parlor for her studio?  Whoot!

Anyway…

The little buggers:

Thing One

Thing One's first day of preschool

This is Thing One.  He’ll be five in a few months and I have no idea how that happened!   His favorite thing right now is Angry Birds, and given an iPod and two inattentive parents, he will play until he’s cranky and overstimulated.  But he mostly spends his time running around, fighting with his little brother, and loving on his baby sister, interjecting random and repeated requests for snack food, even when I tell him to go get it himself.

Chocolate Cupcake Sneak

Yum, chocolate cupcake for breakfast!

Don’t be fooled by the chocolate facial hair!  It’s not a grown man;  Thing Two is only…well, two.  Two and a third as I’m writing this.  And yes, he snuck out of bed and helped himself to a nice, big, gooey cupcake at 6:30 in the morning.  Thing Two is our handful – our “I-can’t -believe-he-just-did-that” kid.  He is fast and he is smart, so if you come over to my house, please don’t let him see you how to use the deadbolt, okay? It’s the only thing keeping him in.  Ezra is a twin, but we lost the other baby at 8 or 9 weeks (A friend pointed out to me that I need to mention this was 8 or 9 weeks into the pregnancy!) And I think that he may have twice the trouble in him as regular children to make up for it!


See the mischief?

He recently learned both how to strip as well as open the refrigerator doors.   This means there is very often a naked child in my fridge. He also seems to inherently know that if he can make a mess, he can get away with a lot while mommy focuses on cleaning it up!

I’m still waiting from a call from CPS about him.  What will trigger it?  The repeated run-ins (literally) with the dining room table?  The jumping-off-the-couch-and-landing-on-the-coffee-table black eyes?  Amazingly enough, we have never taken him to the emergency room because he’s hurt or bleeding (Thing One is another matter…)

Now, before I get nasty emails saying I don’t watch my kids well enough, I want you to know I do (watch him pull the stool over!…no!  Just kidding!)  But there are three of them and only one of me!  One of these days I will invent some kind of tracking system, but until then, there will always be one hiding in a corner with a snickers bar they stole from my purse while the other distracts me by vomiting on the couch.

Okay, moving on before those emails start rolling in…

Baby Girl

Jump! Jump! Jump!

If ever a child loved to jump, it’s Baby Girl.   This is one of the most recent pictures I have of her – from over a month ago.  My mom believes this is a form of grandparent abuse, since they live 15 hours away.

She’s already 7 months old, and she’s already a Diva.  Boy, does she know how to pull heartstrings with just the right cry. Her brothers love her and every morning come into our room to say “hi” to the baby by jumping on me until I’m semi-conscious saying “Where’s baby?” (Same place she was yesterday…and the day before that – IN HER CRIB!)

She loves to stick her fingers in facial orifices – particularly the nose, and to chew on electrical cords, which she can spot at thirty paces and roll furiously across the floor to gnaw.  (Go figure – the sparkly Christmas tree is untouched, but she has my iPod cord in her mouth…)

Well, then there’s me and hubby.  I am the owner of Wee Essentials, a reusable products company (oh, wow, I know that’s surprising!)  I get behind regularly (as some of you know) so I’m working with one seamstress and coercing talking to another to help out.  I’m also talking to someone about taking on administrative duties like shipping!  Exciting, right?  Well, okay, I am excited!  If I could sew all day, I would, but you all want your orders, so…

Hubby is a musician here in Nashville, which really means he works at a large computer company here for a living and moonlights.   (Nashville is hard, even for the talented!) We’ve been married since 2000 which means we’re an old married couple now, right?  He watches the kids while I work, and occasionally we spend time in the same room together.  Until then, we remind ourselves that in a few years, the kids will be taking care of us and we’ll be the ones hanging out together while they spoon-feed us and wipe our tushies!

Leave a Reply

